The Des Moines Chapter of the Izaak Walton League

The Des Moines Chapter of the Izaak Walton League

The Des Moines Chapter of the Izaak Walton League

Chapter Seal 2

About the Izaak Walton League of America

Founded in 1922, the Izaak Walton League is one of the nation’s oldest and most respected conservation organizations. With a powerful grassroots network of more than 250 local chapters nationwide, the League takes a common-sense approach toward protecting our country’s natural heritage and improving outdoor recreation opportunities for all Americans. We invite you to learn about our work and to join us in supporting important conservation initiatives in your community.

Help us protect America’s outdoors. Become a League member today!

You’ll receive an expanded newsletter with more news, stories, and events; Plus chapter updates as they happen!

Des Moines Chapter House
4343 George Flagg Parkway
Des Moines, Iowa
(515) 244-3773

Soil/Water…Where it Starts

July 16-19, 2019 at the Sheraton West Des Moines in Des Moines, Iowa
Sheraton WDM v2

CLICK HERE for the 2019 Convention Kit, featuring all the details including Events, Speakers, Workshops, the Youth Convention and Registration form!

Iowa Division of the Izaak Walton League of America

Izaak Walton Wedding & Banquet Center: The Des Moines Izaak Walton League features a full-service facility for banquets, weddings, corporate meetings and other events.  For information on reservations please contact Carolyn, Manager, at (515) 244-3773.  Also see the Izaak Walton Wedding & Banquet Center page on Facebook for more details.

2019 Iowa Outdoor Expo for Kids and Families
Iowa Outdoor Expo - Logo 400 x 150

September 28 & 29, 2019: Iowa’s premier outdoor event for the whole family, with FREE admission and parking! Featuring hands on activities including archery, bow fishing, camping, canoeing, fishing, kayaking, kids activities, outdoor cooking, shooting ports, wild animals, and more! Saturday 9/28 9 a.m.-6 p.m., Sunday 9/29 10 a.m-4 p.m. at Waterworks Park in Des Moines. See our Facebook event to learn more!

Save Our Streams

The Izaak Walton League’s Save Our Streams (SOS) program helps people just like you check water quality in local creeks and streams. Share your findings with the League, and we can get a clear picture of water quality across the country – the first step in crafting water quality solutions that work. We can also help you restore your stream to good health.

  • Stream Selfie – Say “hello” to Stream Selfie! Show us your favorite stream and help us map streams across America.
  • Winter Salt Watch – Protect your streams by safely curbing road salt use. Our Winter Salt Watch program will show you how!
  • Monitoring 101 – You don’t need a background in science or expensive equipment to be a volunteer stream monitor. We’ll show you how to get started.
  • SOS Equipment – Test the quality of your neighborhood streams today. Check our equipment list to see if you have what you need to get started.

Weekly Meetings and Programs

Meetings are held every Tuesday beginning at 6 p.m. Dinner is served until 7 p.m., with programs starting at 7 p.m. There are lots of great programs and delicious meals coming up on Tuesdays at the Chapter House! Check out our Menus and Programs page to find out more!

Officers 2018/2019
President: Richard “Bo” Galloway
1st VP: Mike O’Deay
2nd VP: Bud Hartley
Secretary: Joe Gavin
Treasurer: Craig Rogers
Past Pres: Joe Gavin
Honorary President: E.M. (Mel) Hrubetz

Directors 2018/2019
Mario Fenu
Brian Gehringer
Robert Jackson Sr.
Earl Kaminski
Carol Roland
Mike Roland
Mike Simpson
Sam Swinton

asset.f.logo.lg  Like us on Facebook

For questions about this site contact Bud Hartley.

4343 George Flagg Parkway, Des Moines, Iowa 50321   ·   Phone 515-244-3773   ·   Email